Anorexia, pathological absence or loss of appetite

Anorexia, pathological absence or loss of appetite

The causes of anorexia are now most often associated with psycho-traumatic situations, but at the same time, hormonal disorder, genetic predisposition, craniocerebral trauma, etc. are more important, more often anorexia occurs in adolescent girls in well-off families. A number of such cases have also been registered among females aged 10 to 30 who dream of a beautiful physique.

Now in Europe, as a result of anorexia from exhaustion and irreversible changes in the body, about 30 people die per year. In the UK, 6 million people in the country between the ages of 16 and 35 suffer from anorexia. According to the statistics of clinics of neuroses, from 3 to 20 percent of patients with anorexia nervosa are doomed. The cause of death is pneumonia, pulmonary edema, tuberculosis or other infections. In the West, every sixth patient dies without the necessary compulsory treatment. (According to the newspapers “Kiev Telegraph” No. 43 of October 20, 2007 and “Moskovsky Komsomolets” dated 12.04.2003).

Anorexia is a serious mental illness. And even psychotherapists, psychiatrists, and psychologists can not always find a “common language” with such patients. Such patients have a distorted image of themselves, understated self-esteem, they refuse to follow the recommendations of specialists, they conflict with their relatives. They can be helped only by joint efforts of the doctor and family of the patient.

In such cases, there is an individual comprehensive approach, protecting the patient from psycho-traumatic factors. Drug therapy is used only as an exception.
From our long-term observations, it should be emphasized that these patients must be under constant supervision of specialists and annually carry out supportive and preventive treatment.

Анорексия, патологическое отсутствие или снижение аппетита

Анорексия, патологическое отсутствие или снижение аппетита

Причины анорексии в настоящее время чаще всего связывают с психотравмирующими ситуациями, но в тоже время имеет значение гормональное нарушение, генетическая предрасположенность, черепно-мозговая травма и др. чаще анорексия встречается у девушек-подростков в обеспеченных семьях. Зарегистрировано также немало таких случаев среди лиц женского пола возрастом от 10 до 30 лет, мечтающих о красивом телосложении.

Сейчас в Европе в результате анорексии от истощения и необратимых изменений в организме умирает примерно 30 человек в год. В Великобритании 6 миллионов жителей страны в возрасте от 16 до 35 лет страдают анорексией. По статистике клиник неврозов, от 3 до 20 процентов больных нервной анорексией обречены. Причина смерти — пневмония, отек легкого, туберкулез или другие инфекции. На Западе без необходимого принудительного лечения погибает каждый шестой пациент. (По данным газет «Киевский телеграф» № 43 от 20.10.2007 и «Московский комсомолец» от 12.04.2003).

Анорексия — это тяжелое психическое заболевание. И даже психотерапевты, психиатры и психологи не всегда могут найти «общий язык» с такими пациентами. У подобных больных искажено представление о себе, занижена самооценка, они отказываются выполнять рекомендации специалистов, конфликтуют с родными. Помочь им можно только совместными усилиями врача и семьи больного.

В подобных случаях имеет место индивидуальный комплексный подход, ограждающий пациента от психотравмирующих факторов. Лекарственная терапия используется только в виде исключения.
Из наших многолетних наблюдений следует подчеркнуть, что эти больные должны находиться под постоянным наблюдением специалистов и ежегодно проводить поддерживающее и профилактическое лечение.